iPhone 7 Camera

I recently took delivery of my new iPhone, the iPhone 7. So far I am very happy with it, all of my phones since my Sony Ericsson C902 have simply served as a small pocket camera with the advantage of making phone calls and using other online services, this phone is no exception.

My phone arrived late on Friday morning, the delivery guy was quite chirpy and surprised I didn’t get the iPhone 7 plus,  I agreed but this a discussion is for another post. I spent the remainder of the day installing the latest iOS and reinstalling my last back up from my old phone, which was running iOS 10.01, by now I had gone out for a few hours and returned home to a phone that was ready to go with the sim activated I was all set. Then spent a few hours updating and deleting a few apps that required it. It is now dark, so there’s little point in testing the new camera despite its low light shooting claims made by Apple.

Fast track to Saturday morning. The sun is rising, and it looks like the lighting will be a good test for my new camera, then I take my first picture on my new iPhone 7. This also forms part of stop start project on tumblr

img_5935

I am suitably impressed.

One of the new features in the phone that had me so excited was an app, called Manual. The reason I was so excited? It allows me to shoot in camera RAW!

screen-shot-2016-09-17-at-8-45-07-am

File management has now become more critical!

My next step was to do a crude exposure and colour test, from both the native camera and the ‘Manual app’.

img_5954

Here is my crude camera target shot by the native camera. Going by the numbers it appears to underexpose slightly?

img_5954

The ‘Manual App’ allows both RAW & jpeg files to be created, this is the jpeg.

Comparing the raw files and the jpegs in Aperture my Photo Editing tool of choice was revelatory.

screen-shot-2016-09-17-at-8-05-46-am

This is the native camera jpeg, nothing too wrong  here, and the black value 19 on the grey scale has a sharp drop off; easily viewable in this low resolution jpeg.

screen-shot-2016-09-17-at-8-05-35-am

This is the raw file from ‘Manaual’.Straight away this file looks underexposed, and not as sharp, but these are characteristic of RAW files anyway.

screen-shot-2016-09-17-at-11-32-28-am

Here is the DNG file in Photoshop’s raw camera processing tool, and yes it would appear the file is slightly underexposed., with the colour balance a tad off, at 6100ºK. i would have expected more like 5000ºK?

More investigation is required and it may be some time before I have a file that I would be happy to print, the ultimate test of any camera.

This approach to image making using cameras, is part of my philosophy of camera craft one of the subjects I teach at PIC. Enrol for 2107 courses, part time, fulltime, Certificate IV and Diploma, if you think you would like to learn more about photography and camera craft, contact the college.

 

2 thoughts on “iPhone 7 Camera

  1. I always preferred shooting directly in jpegs. Interesting post and nice photo…

    1. Thanks, I prefer the flexibility of the raw format given the shortcomings of digital chips and the vagaries of Australian light

Comments are closed.