Abstractions & Chance I

I spend about 5 hours a week in my car commuting from home to work and other places. Traffic can either be a nerve-racking snarl, or a meditative crawl.

Melbourne looks different from a moving vehicle. If I’m in a meditative crawl I get to look around and, well, think.

I think about how things look from the vehicle, I also think about abstractions and chance, combined. These two ideas I revisit on and off depending on my literal work load in the car and the work load at work.

It’s that time of year where I think a lot; the bad traffic helps.

So I have had a crack at the idea of chance and abstraction again in my car. Thursday’s traffic was particularly bad and as I found myself in a part of town I hadn’t had a reason to drive though for over 2 years it seemd the right time to get the camera out again. It was refreshing to say the least, visually. So while crawling along in traffic, I managed to safely set my camera up and position it in way that was a slightly off angle and using a cable release tripped the shutter randomly in between bursts of movement along the way home. The trafic was real bad!

I did this 200+ times in about 50 minutes of traffic. Today I edited them down to 16 or so pictures.

Food for thought.

screen-shot-2016-10-21-at-8-05-26-am
First edit of over 200 images made while stuck in traffic

This kind of experimentation underpins our larger philosophy of learning photography where I work and forms part of my own practice as an artist.

5 thoughts on “Abstractions & Chance I

Comments are closed.