Memory/Place/Archive

img_4349-version-2One of the aspects of photography that captivates me greatly as indeed does so many people, is its capacity to aid memory. This is a contentious issue. With arguments against there being a tsunami of photographs and arguments that think a photograph made is better than a photograph not made, and other where the current sate of the art and technology is at a forefront, and every argument in-between

So for todays serving from my archive I present  some images I made on an ongoing and regular basis. For all intents and purpose however this view has now disappeared. You see we are 1/3 of the way though the renovation of our house and these images as unremarkable as they are on the surface hold great significance for me. I even setup a dedicated tumblr for them. The premise was simple. Watch the light sweep across my backyard, which faced north. Make a picture if I felt the light was interesting, pick the most stunning ones and upload them to tumblr.

screen-shot-2017-01-02-at-13-46-57

img_4297-version-2img_4300-version-2
For all intents and purposes, this idea has run its course, for the time being. Soon I will upload the remaining most interesting images. Perhaps they will become an exhibition or book, either way making a picture facing north from my back doorstep has ceased, or maybe I’ll choose another angle and a different set of parameters to keep the work ticking away?

2 thoughts on “Memory/Place/Archive

  1. Thanks Gary, as I have grown older the idea seems to have gained a sense of urgency it didn’t when I was younger…

Leave a Reply

