Luminosity

Yesterday I posted an image from a long ongoing project that involves time and light. After the weekend workshop I attended recently, I decided to ‘process’ an image.

Given the nuances that were apparent to me when I made the picture for the project on Friday night I thought I’d share the before and after processing photos. A simple set of moves I learned in Les’s workshop.

IMG_3334 (1)
The RAW file converted to jpeg, no manipulations.
IMG_3334 - Version 2
The manipulated  photoshop file converted to jpeg

The amazing thing is that I made about 4 really simple moves and the improvement was amazing. This is what digital photography is for me; the ability to manipulate colour images in ways that prior to Photoshop were impossible. Colour film printing is challenging enough, never mind making sophisticated masks and other local and global controls.

