Time?

As we begin another 12 months of our existence on the third rock from the sun. I am reminded of the idea of time. Many folks no doubt would have spent last night partying until midnight or beyond cheering out the old and inviting the new year in. Convinced in the idea that somehow their lives would take an abrupt change or start fresh. Of course years, hours, and minutes are a human construct so any changes that occur in the natural world are not contingent on calendars or clocks. And in my mind only people who want to change do.

Time and photography is something that interests me though. I’m enthralled and excited at how cameras blur, distort and freeze time in ways the human eye and mind is incapable of seeing.

Spencer Street, Melbourne, Victoria, Australia. 2017-0-09 17:20:25
Cremorne, Melbourne, Victoria, Australia 2015-10-06 19:02:23

Over the years I have created several flukes and some surprising images, two examples are above.

Richmond, Melbourne, Vidtoria, Australia 2005-10-20 18:49:09

However my most surprising is this one below.

Richmond, Melbourne, Victoria, Australia. 2015-06-26 16:33:25

I have for some years been trying to create a body of work that explores the idea of time and chance. Or is that Abstraction and chance? I will continue for the foreseeable future to work on this project. For the time being most of these images as they are digital will reside on the web. Who knows though? Maybe I’ll have a enough material for a photobook?